Unexpected help

The Old Man’s household rubbish is collected each Friday morning. At the end of a telephone conversation one Friday morning recently, he said to me:
“Did I tell you the lady next door helped me put my [wheelie-] bin out?”
I thought he must mean the helpful Mrs CJ. Then he said that she got Mr JG to move his own bin out of the way to make room for the Old Man’s bin. I realised that the Old Man must be referring not to Mrs CJ but to Mrs JG. The Old Man confirmed that Mrs JG was the “lady next door” he was referring to.
This is the first contact that the Old Man has had with Mr & Mrs JG for quite some time.

[Original posting 24 October 2009]

This entry was posted in Reposted and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

