Reverse parenthood

I first discussed reverse parenthood with old friends Mr & Mrs BG. This must have been twenty years ago. We were nonchalantly talking in general and hypothetical terms, which was a luxury we could all enjoy at that time.
“And finally you get to the stage where the parent-child relationship is reversed,” I said to them. “But we [the Old Man and the Deceased Lady and I] aren’t there yet, not by a long way.”
I discussed the subject again, years later, with some even older friends of mine Dr & Dr LA. Dr LA(m)’s parents both died many years ago.
I told Dr LA(f) that the Old Man had in effect recently said to me, “I’ve got this problem, and what are you going to do about it?” I had replied, “All right, Dad, I’ll sort this out next time I come and see you.”

[Original posting 10 January 2010]

This entry was posted in Reposted and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

