Friday 18-6-10: six blue dots

At 07:26 there was no reply from the Old Man.
At 07:34 he answered after the phone had rung a few times.
I told him to look for the dispersible aspirin.
“What do you want, the long box?”
“Dispensible…”
The Old Man had to interrupt the proceedings, to go to the toilet.

I rang back at 08:01. The Old Man had put a dispersible aspirin into the cup.
“I’ll give it another stir.” — and I heard the tinkle of the spoon. There was a gasp, and then he said:
“Done.”
The Old Man found the bendroflumethiazide.
“It’s only little, you know,” he remarked.
Referring to the amlodipine, he said:
“They’re getting short.” And then it seemed that he hadn’t found the amlodipine! I asked him whether he had taken the amlodipine.
“No, I’ve got it in my hand.”
“Levoteroxa.” — or something approximating to that.
He found the co-codamol, and swallowed two tablets.
I got him to undertake a final search for the levothyroxine, but he did not find it.
“I’ve found them all, BLEKE,” he claimed. This made me decide to abandon the search.
Our phone-call ended at 08:31.

When I phoned the Old Man at 18:35, there was no reply.
At 19:06 he answered the phone, but seemed disoriented and asked who I was. I told him to go and get a banana and some bread, or something else to eat.
At 20:34, the Old Man got out the blue-top and red-top bottles, but didn’t get the tablets out of them until I told him to. Or so I thought. It turned out that he had in front of him two cod-liver-oil capsules and two multivitamin tablets. So he must have forgotten that he had taken out the first pair of tablets, and have taken out a second pair.
I told him to find the box with the blue dots. On his own initiative, he counted that there were six dots.
While searching for simvastatin, the Old Man went to switch the light on.
He seemed repeatedly to forget what he should be looking for, almost as soon as he had been told.
He offered levothyroxine. I told him he was looking in the wrong box.
“What do you expect to find?” he asked. [?]
He offered dispersible aspirin, then found the ferrous sulphate and swallowed one. I decided to omit the simvastatin.
Searching for co-codamol, he offered ferrous sulphate again.
I checked what box he was looking in.
“The box that says ‘EVENING’ on it,” he replied.
He offered dispersible aspirin, levothyroxine, gliclazide (three times), ferrous sulphate twice, then dispersible aspirin again. He could not find the co-codamol.
“I’m fed up,” he said.
Our phone-call ended at 21:15.

[Original posting 18 June 2011]

This entry was posted in Reposted and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

