Back to the best

Friday 30 March 2012

Bert’s is open again. However, there are few customers while I am in the shop.
On the forecourt are the blue car, and at the opposite side a heating engineer’s big black van. A small silver car parks between them while I am waiting to be served. Some men who clearly are associated with the van are standing on the forecourt when I arrive; there is only one man inside the shop.
Both women are on duty; it is Short Woman who serves me. Junior appears from behind the scenes, then disappears again after only a few seconds. I don’t see Bert.
As I drive off, I find that the heating engineer’s van is directly ahead of me. Our paths diverge at the second junction.
The fish and chips and peas are excellent. Short Woman has served me with a good-sized portion of excellent cod. None of the chips are of the too-thinly-sliced variety.
When I go shopping, I see that the heap of scrap wood at the front corner of Sarah Goldstein’s house has finally been removed!
During the afternoon, I hear Charlie and Karl next door.

[Original posting 30 March 2013]

This entry was posted in Rewritten and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

