Busy day at Bert’s

Saturday 14 April 2012

When I arrive at Bert’s, the blue car is parked as usual. A silver hatchback parks alongside it while I am in the shop.
All four members of staff are on duty, and there are eight customers queuing ahead of me. Before I am served, four people have joined the queue behind me. One of those ahead of me is an old lady with a walking-stick; those behind me are all men.
Short Woman has again changed the style of her hair, but has not changed its deep black colour.
When I go to do some shopping at TeraGroce after lunch, I notice that there is now a second estate agent’s sign in the garden of the house where Mrs AD’s mother used to live.
There are some oddments (wooden shelves etcetera) leaning against the front wall of number 35, by the living-room window.

[Original posting 14 April 2013]

This entry was posted in Rewritten and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

