Seen at the last moment

Saturday 5 October 2013

The morning starts dull and overcast. The roadway is damp.
At 06:30, the only window lit up to the rear of the house is an upper-storey window of 4 Cypress Crescent.
Not long after 07:15 the GS family’s silver estate car passes the Old Man’s house on its way to George Street where it turns right. The car doesn’t have its lights on.
From about 08:00 the sun is trying to come out. About twenty minutes later, a little red VW with a black tailgate (perhaps the same car I saw the other day, driven by an old man) ascends Acacia Grove. And then the sun does come out.
Mrs Port’s car has departed, unnoticed, some minutes before 09:00.
When I set off for Suburbia Somnolenta, Mr JG is descending his garden path, towards his driveway. This is the first time I have seen him this visit. (I haven’t seen Mrs JG either, but I have seen Nash.) I bid him goodbye.

This entry was posted in New and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.